Finland

Lately I have been hearing a lot about Finland, its education system, and how amazing it is. I used to nod along with people pretending I knew what they talk were talking about, but it wasn’t until I read an article in my EMTH 450 class and had one of my fellow classmates give a presentation on Finland that I feel as though I now have some understanding of what everyone is hyping about.

The article we read was called “Finland schools: Subjects scrapped and replaced with ‘topics’ as country reforms its education system“. I’m not going to summarize but it is a worthwhile read if you’re interested in the topic.

Now the presentation that my classmate gave, gave me a few more insights into why Finland’s education system is so working so well. The main reason that stood out to me was that all teachers in Finland need their Masters degree in order to teach. The reason that teachers must have these is because it raises self- confidence in them and they are seen as more of a professional than here in Canada. The field of education is a lot harder to get into, only 10% of people that apply will get accepted. During their time in school they complete a 35 week internship rather than what we have down here, which breaks our “internships” into pieces. Once someone becomes a teacher in Finland, they have no obligation to do professional development like do here. I have always thought of teachers as professionals, but that is because I wanted to become one and I grew up with them and admired what they did. But to hear how other people don’t always see teachers as professionals is sort of discouraging sometimes, so it was nice to hear how valued teachers are over there. Maybe that is a reason why Finland is so successful, their main educators are valued in a way that not a lot of us know of.

But that is just a piece of what I have learned so far from about Finland and why it is successful. If you have more information that you think would enhance my knowledge even more, feel free to share it with me!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

