Why Can’t I Use Internet Explorer…

During our last class Alec introduced an amazing tool to us… HOLA! This was the best/worst thing he could have shared with me and I’ll tell you why! Hola is a tool that you can download onto Google Chrome that allows you to change your IP address to a different country, it is a type of extension used only for Google Chrome users. Why is this tool so amazing… American Netflix! Since downloading this extension I have watched a lot of Criminal Minds and Disney movies.

However, downloading this extension started a worthy conversation with my cousin who I told needed to download this extension. Until this year I had been using Internet Explorer for all my web browsing needs. I had been told multiple times that I should not be using Internet Explorer, that Google Chrome was way better, yet I still am not sure why. The reason I bring this up is because I told my cousin that she must use Google Chrome, like MUST, but when she asked why, I could not give her a legit reason. Which is why I am blogging about it. I like Google Chrome and I will not go back to Internet Explorer (because I don’t want to lose American Netflix), but I am wondering if anyone can give me a good reason (that’ll I’ll understand) as to why using Internet Explorer is so bad.

Also, take a look at this photo that my cousin did tag me in on Instagram, sort of explains my confusion as to why people are so adamant that I use Google Chrome and forget about Internet Explorer.

One thought on “Why Can’t I Use Internet Explorer…

  1. That’s a good question! I didn’t have a good answer off the top of my head.

    I started to look up information on security for both browsers. I’ve seen some reports that Internet Explorer takes more time to push fixes to their browser, which means that if someone finds a hole in the security, they can use it longer before its repaired. Generally Chrome gets the fastest updates, which means that at any given moment in time, chrome is the most secure browser to be using. There was a recent competition hosted by Google to find security holes in web browsers. The guy found 4 bugs in IE, but only 1 in Chrome. Generally, IE is easier to compromise then Chrome, which makes it an easy target for cyber pirates. ARG!

Leave a Reply

