Learning From Scratch

A couple of weeks ago Alec introduced us to a website called Scratch which allows students to use codes without realizing that they are using codes. Now I am no expert on codes but from what I understand it is involved in pretty much anything to do with technology (correct me if I’m wrong). I found this site quite confusing to be honest. I started with my little cat (a.k.a. my sprite) and started playing around with the movements and sounds of what my cat could do. I pulled down some movements and sounds and he did not do a whole lot but turn in a small circle and meow a lot. I decided to ditch my cat and try my luck out on a ballerina dancing in her bedroom. I gave her all these cool motions, I wanted her to jump from her bed to floor, say hello, and move around a bit.

flying_ballerina

Instead, I ended up with this. It’s not very exciting, but it took me quite a while to even get this far. I could see how this would be fun to use in a classroom. Students can learn how one click of a button can lead to a series of motions and noise and essentially come up with a game without necessarily realizing what they are actually doing. I’d be interested to know how you could incorporate this type of website into a mathematics classroom. Please comment and share your thoughts on this. I’ll keep trying my luck with this website and hopefully my “Flying Ballerina” will be able to do more tricks.

One thought on “Learning From Scratch

Leave a Reply

