Chapters 5,6

Chapter 5

Summary

Chapter 5 discusses how it is important to assess and evaluate students based on having multiple forms of evidence of their learning. It is good to have multiple forms of evidence because in the end when you evaluate them, you and others are confident that you have a sufficient amount of evidence to prove their learning. Connecting what we are assessing to the curriculum is essential not only for our students, but also for us since it is our responsibility to identify what students are learning based on the curriculum.

Connection

Something that I really appreciated in my ELA 10, 20, 30 classes was the opportunity to present our work in multiple forms. I loved that I did not always have to write an essay (though we did do more of that) but sometimes we were able to do Wordles, Glogster presentations, Powerpoints, or if someone wanted to, they could build some sort of art piece. Connecting other forms of evidence in a mathematics classroom may take some time for me to get used to, as I was only assessed on tests, quizzes and homework checks. I am hoping that while I am at university as a learner I will find out these ways because I want to make my mathematics classroom as much fun as possible so that students are not discouraged away from mathematics.

Critique

I do not have anything to critique for this chapter because I agree with everything that it said. I agree that it is extremely important to assess and evaluate students in multiple ways, giving them the chance to explore and create in ways that they learn best. As I learn more about assessment and evaluation, I am starting to change my mind on why teachers need to be explicit with when and why they are assessing certain things. I guess what I am trying to say is that maybe the way I learned was not the best way, even though I did make it to university. I see now that some diversity in my learning would have been a great eye opener for me.

 

Chapter 6

Summary

Chapter 6 focused on involving students in the assessment process so that they can explicitly see what they are getting out of a lesson. Involving students in the process allows the teacher to learn more about their students and how each of them learns best. Engaging students is also something Davies emphasized in the chapter and in doing so, the teacher is allowing their students to process what they are learning, give themselves feedback, and transition themselves from one class to another.

Connection

I have yet to be involved in choosing how I want to be assessed in any classes I have taken (high school or university). The only part of assessment that I have been involved in is peer assessment and self-assessment, and that was only because the teacher planned that for their own benefit so they could know who was actually working and who was not. I found this chapter to be quite similar to chapter 5 because this chapter once again emphasizes that it is important to be explicit with your students in their learning process.

Critique

The only critique I have for this chapter and what I have had with previous ones is the fact that sometimes it is not appropriate for students to be involved in creating how they want to be assessed. Though I now see how important it is to be upfront with your students about why you are assessing them, I do not think it is necessary to always involve them in how they are going to be assessed. Sometimes I think it appropriate for just the teacher to come up with the criteria because they know what exactly they are looking for and know the best way to assess the students on their learning. However, I have appreciated the fact that Davies has presented a new way of viewing assessment to me, I do feel as though I will try some of her techniques she describes, but will probably start out small and see where that takes me.

Leave a Reply

